Florence K

MENTAL HEALTH: BETWEEN WATER AND FIRE

 

There are times when we may feel like we’re wading in thick mud, a mud that is almost opaque, through which light can barely filter. However, if we ponder it a little more, how many times do we draw our most courageous initiatives, our most beautiful creations, our wisest decisions, during the times when we are covered in that same mud, when we find ourselves stuck in it up to our heads?”

 These words are those which Florence chose in her book Buena Vida to talk about her struggle with mental health. Near the end of 2011, at the peak of a promising artistic career, the young mother of a little girl was introduced, unwillingly, to chronic insomnia, anxiety and, subsequently, deep depression. This period of her life, which she referred to as “the abyss”, led her to hospitalization, then to the long road to recovery and, finally, after receiving a diagnosis of type II bipolarity, to a state of balance.

Since then, Florence chooses to use her personal experience to help raise awareness about mental health, a cause to which she devotes much of her time. After having added a psychology certificate to her bachelors’ degree in communications, she is now studying to earn a Masters’ degree in mental health. Florence was recognized in November 2017 by the Center for Addiction and Mental Health (CAMH) as one of 150 Canadian leaders in mental health. As an ambassador for Bell’s Let’s Talk campaign, she gives nationwide conferences where she shares her story open-heartedly, offering her perspective on mental health in today’s society. Whether with the Canadian Armed Forces, with the college and university community, within businesses, the medical field, community resource centers, mental health prevention associations, or in the music industry, her testimony touches the heart of her audiences and contributes greatly to the breaking of taboos and demystification of mental health issues. In the Spring of 2019, she presented a prized radio-documentary, The Hole Inside, on the air of CBC Radio, in which she shared her story and talked about what her day to day life is with a type II bipolarity disorder.

Because she strongly believes that the time has come to overcome society’s standing prejudices and taboos around mental health issues, she offers today to share her story and vision of mental health, through an open-hearted testimony.

After all, we are never as alone as we may be led to believe.

Florence K

SANTÉ MENTALE : ENTRE L’EAU ET LE FEU

 

« Il y a de ces moments où l’on peut avoir l’impression de patauger dans une boue solide, presque opaque, à travers laquelle la lumière peine à passer. Et pourtant, lorsqu’on s’y attarde un peu, combien de fois tirons-nous nos initiatives les plus courageuses, nos créations les plus belles, nos décisions les plus sages au moment où nous sommes nous-mêmes couverts de boue, lorsque nous nous retrouvons dans la merde jusqu’au cou? »

 Ces mots sont ceux que Florence a choisi dans son livre Buena Vida pour parler de ses troubles de santé mentale. Fin 2011, au sommet d’une carrière artistique prometteuse, la jeune maman d’une petite fille fait connaissance bien malgré elle avec l’insomnie chronique, l’anxiété puis avec la dépression majeure.  Cette période de sa vie, qu’elle surnomme « l’abysse », la mène jusqu’à l’hospitalisation, puis sur le long chemin du rétablissement et enfin, après avoir obtenu un diagnostic de bipolarité type II, de l’équilibre.

Florence choisit depuis de mettre son expérience personnelle au service de la cause de la santé mentale et y consacre une importante partie de son temps. Après avoir ajouté un certificat universitaire en psychologie à son bac en communication, elle est maintenant étudiante à la Maîtrise en Santé Mentale et a été reconnue en novembre 2017 par le CAMH comme étant l’un des 150 leaders canadiens en santé mentale. Également ambassadrice de la campagne Bell Cause pour la cause, elle donne des conférences partout dans le pays où elle raconte à cœur ouvert sa propre histoire, offrant sa perspective sur la santé mentale dans notre société actuelle. Que ce soit auprès des Forces Armées Canadiennes, dans le milieu collégial et universitaire, au sein d’entreprises, dans le domaine médical, dans des centres de ressources communautaires, des associations de prévention en santé mentale ou dans le milieu de l’industrie musicale, son partage touche le public droit au cœur et contribue grandement à briser les tabous et à démystifier les troubles de santé mentale. Au printemps 2019, elle a présenté sur les ondes de CBC un radio-documentaire primé, The Hole Inside, dans lequel elle expose son récit et parle de ce qu’est la vie au quotidien avec son diagnostic de bipolarité type II.

Parce qu’elle croit fermement qu’il est grand temps que les préjugés et les tabous perdurant encore autour des troubles de santé mentale doivent tomber, elle propose aujourd’hui de raconter son parcours de vive voix et sa vision de la santé mentale, à travers un partage à cœur ouvert.

Après tout, on n’est jamais aussi seuls qu’on peut être portés à le croire.